View Full Version : E-mail scams
guitarpic
12-01-2003, 11:23 AM
i was reading an article from the Sun Herald and i noticed that they use PayPal as an example of one company that people can replicate the notices they send out if something is going to expire. Theses people replicating the e-mail take your information that they ask for in the e-mail and sell it to other people. It says that the messages are very authentic unless you notice a couple of typos. So i was wondering does anybody know if PayPal sends something out concerning the acount for the gold membership and if so, is it possible somebody could tell me exactly what it asks for, so that i would be able to check for authenticity.
Bills
12-01-2003, 11:27 AM
The emails going out are all the same they give you a message saying, your account is about to expire please.....enter this or do that type deal.
I normally get a few a day and I will post one for you guys to see when I get my next one in. Most email filters are now able to pick out and delete these now as they are wide spread.
The email you get from signing up for TAO is just a thanks for joining type deal.
guitarpic
12-01-2003, 11:32 AM
thanx bills
Bills
12-01-2003, 01:09 PM
The original e-mail attachment "www.paypal.com.scr"
was believed to be infected by a virus and has been replaced by this warning message.
All major filters now vlock this so you don't have to worry. Just remember Pay Pal never in my mind sends out attachments.
vBulletin® v3.7.3, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.