Tactics Arena Online - Community Forum
News & Events Game Guide Unit Stats Play Online Player Rankings Tournaments FAQ Community Forum
Old 12-01-2003, 12:23 PM   #1
guitarpic
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 16
guitarpic is a name known to allguitarpic is a name known to allguitarpic is a name known to allguitarpic is a name known to allguitarpic is a name known to allguitarpic is a name known to all
Send a message via AIM to guitarpic
E-mail scams

i was reading an article from the Sun Herald and i noticed that they use PayPal as an example of one company that people can replicate the notices they send out if something is going to expire. Theses people replicating the e-mail take your information that they ask for in the e-mail and sell it to other people. It says that the messages are very authentic unless you notice a couple of typos. So i was wondering does anybody know if PayPal sends something out concerning the acount for the gold membership and if so, is it possible somebody could tell me exactly what it asks for, so that i would be able to check for authenticity.
guitarpic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2003, 12:27 PM   #2
Bills
Mr. Wizard
 
Bills's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 745
Bills has become immortalBills has become immortalBills has become immortalBills has become immortalBills has become immortalBills has become immortalBills has become immortalBills has become immortalBills has become immortalBills has become immortalBills has become immortal
The emails going out are all the same they give you a message saying, your account is about to expire please.....enter this or do that type deal.

I normally get a few a day and I will post one for you guys to see when I get my next one in. Most email filters are now able to pick out and delete these now as they are wide spread.

The email you get from signing up for TAO is just a thanks for joining type deal.
Bills is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2003, 12:32 PM   #3
guitarpic
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 16
guitarpic is a name known to allguitarpic is a name known to allguitarpic is a name known to allguitarpic is a name known to allguitarpic is a name known to allguitarpic is a name known to all
Send a message via AIM to guitarpic
thanx bills
guitarpic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2003, 02:09 PM   #4
Bills
Mr. Wizard
 
Bills's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 745
Bills has become immortalBills has become immortalBills has become immortalBills has become immortalBills has become immortalBills has become immortalBills has become immortalBills has become immortalBills has become immortalBills has become immortalBills has become immortal
The original e-mail attachment "www.paypal.com.scr"
was believed to be infected by a virus and has been replaced by this warning message.

All major filters now vlock this so you don't have to worry. Just remember Pay Pal never in my mind sends out attachments.
Bills is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.


About Us | Advertising | Privacy | TOS | Contact Us | Cancel Site requirement: Macromedia Flash Player
Copyright © 2009 TAO Gaming, Inc Game and website created by Digital Seed Entertainment